Smart Way To Know Your Customer Avatar

After my first blog, I have gained the confidence to write another. The second blog topic is one of my favorites. I have learnt so much about the customer personas from so many people around me. Firstly I would like to thank all the people who taught me the same.

The first step of marketing is to know who your customers are, only then you’ll be able to market your product/service to the right audience.

My friend Nikhil explained this to me with a beautiful example. He asked me if I could sell a spider man bottle to a college boy. And I said no – He then asked me the reason for it and I replied to him that the college boy might not be interested in the product. And thus I learnt that the customer’s interest and age (psychographics) plays a major role in conversion and selling.

What is Customer Avatar?
A customer avatar is a detailed profile of your ideal customer to whom you’ll be marketing your product or service. By knowing your customer avatar you can sell more of your product and reach a wider audience. It also helps you to communicate powerfully with the people who are most likely to become your customers.

Segregating your Ideal customer!
Your ideal customer is segregated into two based on:

  1. Demographics
  2. Psychographics

Demographics in marketing
In marketing, Demographics targeting is based on age, gender, education, income, employment, ethnicity, culture, location etc. These give you very useful insight into the people and thus let us create a powerful marketing strategy for your business.

Psychographics in marketing
Psychographic targeting is based on behaviour, interest, personality, values, beliefs, attitude, taste, opinions etc. Psychographics allow us learn in-depth about a person and therefore, it’s easier to create a strategic plan. It will be your key component if you are planning to build a product or service.


Marc Benioff, Co-founder of salesforce stated: “Most of all, I discovered in order to succeed with a product you must truly get to know your customers and build something for them.”

As a part of the second assignment, I was asked to take a survey according to my niche to know who my customer avatar was. Below is the google form which I have created for a restaurant. I have chosen Social Media Marketing for Restaurants only.

52 people have filled my form and Below are the insights:

Image result for zomato delivery boy. sonu

Based on the insight I am going to name my customer avatar as : Foodrama.

Name: Foodrama

Age: 18-25

Location: Chennai

Profession, company name and company size I have asked in order to provide offers on behalf of the restaurant.

Annual Income: Above 1-3 Lakhs

Favourite cuisine: South Indian

How often he/she eats out: Twice a week

How much does one spend on food: Maximum $$$

Which app people use for ordering food: Swiggy & Zomato

Conclusion:

Now that I have summed up how my customer avatar should be, I can easily target the customer who falls under the above category. So with the help of this detailed customer person I can now target my marketing more efficiently. Since I know my ideal customer instead of addressing them as “Anyone” I can actually refer to them as “Someone” specific. Thus communicating with my ideal customer becomes much easier with the demographics and psychographics.

Leave a comment