First Interview !

          Every pre-graduate’s first and foremost dream is to get placed in a reputed company. For most of us, the major drawback is either overconfidence or over enthusiasm of getting a job. This blog is all about my first interview I’ve faced at an e-commerce platform.

          Since it was my first interview, I woke up early in the morning which was really a bolt from the blue scenario. As a usual thing, I got dolled up for my first interview and It was like an Indian visiting Paris (Trust me I was quite quirky). I reached the maze like campus (feels as if I was playing Indian version of Dylan O’Brien in maze runner :p). As soon as I passed by the gate I was stopped by the guards and they asked me to get the ID pass (just a piece of paper *shit* though).Once I am done with all these formalities I reached one of the premises of that company where the interview was held.

          I was waiting at HR space in that premises and I was literally at zero state of mind. I haven’t expected the referral drive will have so many fresher graduates as well as the experienced technocrats. After an hour, Our drive coordinator introduced himself, explained the job description as well as the whole process of the interview.

         Here comes, the first phase of the interview called “EXTEMPORE”(the word I heard for the first time, some of you might be familiar with this). Extempore is nothing but a spontaneous talk on a specific topic without any preparation. Umpteen(finally got a place to use this word though :p)of them before me and I was waiting for my turn.Undoubtedly I made three good friends(with same mental disorders) before this round came to an end. And Hurray ! it was my turn to talk about some general topic, First meeting of Netaji with Hitler (my choice :)).Enthusiastically I introduced myself to everyone and I started with content while our coordinator interrupted me and went out (official purpose)and well for the first time I handled that situation with a cool head.Finally, he came back to listen to my story unfortunately, he stopped me in the middle before I could complete the whole thing. At last, the first phase came to an end, we were all fingers crossed and four of us got through.    

         Whenever I hear the term “Aptitude” my systolic and diastolic pressure will be abnormal(perks of being a biology student :’)). And yes ! my second phase was Aptitude. Everyone was provided with the same set of question paper. It was paper based though and luckily everyone got pen except me and I borrowed a pen from the one who was monitoring our test. It took me whole 30minutes to complete whatever I know(Only Verbal and Analytical reasoning was asked) and I submitted to the exam proctor. At the end, results were announced(they called out the name who didn’t get through), same nail biting situation persisted and It was a cloud nine moment for me since I cleared aptitude round for the first time. At the end of the day, the final phase of the whole process was the face-to-face interview with the manager.

         Apparently, I was so nervous that I was blabbering to myself about some irrelevant shits(which I usually do). On hearing my name I went inside the panel where there was two complete stranger. The first interviewer asked me to introduced myself, I started without stammering and before I could end my introduction the second interviewer stopped me and asked whether I need water or something (since I was quite nervous). Trust me only first five minutes of my interview was so nervous and the rest 20minutes of the interview was a total bomb(fun-filled).And there was question about my project and kinds of stuff and so many extra curriculums which I answered with a cool-headedness(TBH I was quite over enthusiastic).On the whole, my day completed with the satisfaction that at least I’ve tackled the situation which I had never faced previously(And as usual the princess lived happily ever after).

 

P.S: Do not ask me about the rest :p. Attempt all your opportunity with satisfaction and don’t ever lose your hope. One day or other you will get that click to go to the heights which you dreamt of and worked hard. And final thing “DO WITH ALL YOUR HEART”. Comments and criticism are most welcomed.

 

Thank y’all.

With love,

Janani Ravikumar

4 thoughts on “First Interview !

Leave a comment